- Online Learning FAQ
- Accounts and Passwords
- Cable TV
- Cellphones and Mobile Devices
- Computer Labs, Kiosks & Printing
- Document Management
- Google Workplace
- Internet Access & Networking
- IT Security
- Purchase Request
- Technology Classrooms
Migrating Google Drive files and folders to department Google Shared Drive?
You can move files from your personal Google Drive, also known as My Drive, to a Shared drive. Folders on the other hand are not able to be moved directly. Here are a few tips and notes on migrating files.
1: Users are not able to move a folder from My Drive to a Shared drive. Instead, you will need to create a new folder on the Shared drive and then move the files into that folder. The most efficient way to do this is by selecting multiple files at once and moving them in bulk.
2: Because you are not able to move a folder, and need to recreate a folder in Shared drive first, the newly created folder's permissions will be inherited from the Shared drive. This means that only those authorized to access the Shared drive will have access to the folder.
3: Files in your My Drive that are owned or created by another user will not me moved. Those files will only be copied to the Shared drive. This means that the original file will remain in place as a separate entity. To avoid having two copies of a file, make sure the owner of the file is making the move.
4: Moving files to the Shared drives will remove your ownership of the files and change that ownership to the Shared Drive itself. File permissions and links to the file do not change. People who are not Shared drive members can still access the file with previously granted permission to the specific file.